Let Us Help
Click to Home

Go To Search

Municipal Elections

State of Georgia
City of Lilburn
August 23, 2017


Council Post 3: Eddie Price, Incumbent
Shabaka C. Fletcher
Philip (Phil) Holland

Council Post 4: Tim Dunn, Incumbent

Melissa Penate
City of Lilburn Election Superintendent 
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-153 (d)(1)

Voting Location Has Changed!

The Lilburn precinct has moved to the new City Hall/Library building located at:

340 Main Street
Lilburn, GA 30047

Early voting and Election Day voting will be held on the first floor in the shared meeting room. 

General Election 
The city clerk conducts all elections in the city. Municipal elections are generally held in odd years.

Running for Office
Our mayor and council serve four-year staggered terms in order to ensure that at no time is the council composed of a full panel of freshman members. In order to qualify for the position of mayor or council member, one must meet the following requirements:

  • Must reside inside the city limits of the City of Lilburn for at least one year as of the first Tuesday of November of the year for which you are qualifying
  • Must be registered to vote
  • Must state which post you are qualifying
  • Must pay the qualifying fee of $105 - council seat

Elected officials take office at the first organizational meeting in January following the election. Once elected, all council members must continue to live inside the city limits of Lilburn during their period of service and remain a registered voter.

Register to Vote
If you are not registered to vote, you have options:
  • You can now register to vote online if you have a Georgia issued personal identification card or a Georgia issued driver’s license. Visit the Secretary of State’s website at www.mvp.sos.ga.gov/
  • You can fill out a Voter Registration form that can be picked up at the front office of City Hall or you can download the PDF version here: Voter Registration Form

Once you have completed the form, it must be printed and either mailed or hand delivered to the Voter Registrations and Elections Office. By law, applications received via email or fax will be rejected.

Mail Voter Registration documents to:
Gwinnett County Board of Registrations and Elections
75 Langley Drive
Lawrenceville, GA 30046

Note: Although the above form states DO NOT FOLD OVER, STAPLE, OR TAPE, it only applies to the printed original form. The PDF copy may be sealed as needed for mailing, although we recommend that staples not be used. Staples get caught in the mail processing equipment and often tear the documents, which could delay or prevent you from becoming registered to vote. 

Absentee Ballot Information

City ONLY Elections:

A completed application must first be received before an absentee ballot is issued. Please call the City of Lilburn at 770-921-2210 to request that an application be mailed or faxed to you.  Please complete and print the application then return it in one of these ways:
  • Fax the application to 770-921-8942
  • Email it to Absentee Ballot Clerk Melissa L. Penate
  • Deliver or mail the application to:
    City of Lilburn
    Absentee Ballot Clerk
    340 Main St.
    Lilburn, GA 30047

ALL OTHER Elections:

Absentee ballots may be requested up to 180 days prior to an election.  A completed application must first be received before and absentee ballot is issued.  Complete the the form online or contact the Voter Registrations and Elections Division at 678-226-7210 to request an application by mail or fax.

Online applications must be downloaded, signed, and returned to the Voter Registrations and Elections Division before an absentee ballot is issued.  Voters can submit the application using one of the following methods:

For more information about Absentee Voting, visit the Absentee Voting by Mail webpage.